In Wyoming, the minimum hourly wage is $7.25, the same as the current federal minimum wage rate. Over the past year, more than half of all states have increased their minimum wage rates, but Wyoming was not among the states that did.
Wyoming’s minimum wage is actually $5.15, just like in Georgia, but because the federal minimum wage is $7.25, that prevails.
So, fortunately, most Wyoming workers are having a slight reprieve because most businesses and employers are subject to Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) regulations that mandate they must receive at least the federal minimum wage.
The Fair Labor Standards Act dates back to 1938 when President Franklin Roosevelt signed it into law. The purpose was to offer protection and support to American workers by providing them with a living wage that was required by law.
Wyoming minimum wage law does not allow employers to pay employees with disabilities, apprentices, learners, student learners, and student workers a wage rate under the minimum wage.
Not all Wyoming workers are paid the state’s minimum wage because some workers are exempt. Tipped employees, for example, can be paid under Wyoming’s minimum wage rate, but if their total hourly wage is not at the $7.25 level, the employers must pay the difference.
To minors younger than 20 years of age, a training wage of $4.25 may be paid, but for no longer than the first 90 work days on a new job.
Wyoming Paycheck Calculator
Our Wyoming Paycheck Calculator translates your hourly wage to weekly, yearly, and monthly earnings.
How to use our Wyoming paycheck calculator
- First, enter your hourly wage.
- Second, enter how many hours you work a week.
- Our paycheck calculator now shows you your hourly wage transformed into weekly, monthly, and yearly earnings.
How does this Wyoming paycheck calculator work?
If you get paid by the hour, chances are you’ll find it challenging to figure out how your hourly wage would be translated to earnings per month, year, or week.
If you would get paid per month or week, it is quite different. You’ll get your paycheck by the end of a work period. So to help you, as an hourly worker, determine what your hourly wage would be in wages per month, year, or week, we designed a great tool, our paycheck calculator.
Here’s how it works. You only have to put in your hourly wage and how many hours you work each week. Our paycheck calculator will immediately show you what your earnings would be per month, week, or year.
|Annual pay =||hourly earnings times
40 hours times 52 weeks
|Monthly pay =||annual earnings divided by 12 months|
|Weekly pay =||hourly earnings times 40 hours|
These results are generated by multiplying your base hourly pay by the number of hours, weeks, or months you work annually, assuming you work 40 hours per week.
Minimum Wage in Wyoming
So the minimum hourly wage in Wyoming is $7.25. This translates to $58.00 a day, $290.00 a week (if you work 40 hours), $1256.67 a month, or $15,080.00 a year.
We said it earlier, but not all Wyoming workers will get paid at the state’s minimum level. Some workers, such as students, farm and seasonal workers, tipped workers, and nonprofit workers, are exempt from Wyoming’s minimum pay or overtime regulations.
In Wyoming, agricultural workers and individuals employed in domestic service in private homes may also receive under the state’s minimum pay standards.
Students participating in a learn-work program from a university can be paid 85% (so $6.16) of Wyoming’s minimum hourly pay if the job is part-time for up to 20 hours a week. More information about exempt categories can be found below.
Wisconsin minimum wage exemptions
Please note that professionals such as computer systems analysts, software engineers, and computer programmers are not exempt in Wyoming from the state’s minimum wage requirements.
In Wyoming, the following employees are exempt from the state’s minimum wage regulations. This is not a complete overview, but it includes the most common categories:
- Agricultural and seasonal workers are exempt from Wisconsin’s minimum wage requirements.
- Domestic service workers in private homes and casual domestic workers such as babysitters are also exempt.
- Governmental workers and individuals working voluntarily for nonprofit, charitable, educational, or religious organizations may hold exempt status as well.
- Elected officials, business professionals, administrators, executives, people in public office, and outside salespersons may be exempt.
- Tipped workers are exempt from Wyoming’s minimum pay requirements, but if an employee’s hourly wage (including tips) is not at the $7.25 level, the employer needs to pay the difference.
- Employees under 20 years old may get $4.25 an hour as a training wage, but not for longer than 90 days.
- Full-time students engaged in work-learn projects provided by a university or college may get paid 85 percent ($6.16) of Wyoming’s minimum pay, as long as the job is part-time for no more than 20 hours a week.
All employers in Wyoming are required to display state-designated informative posters with information on Wyoming’s minimum wage and overtime regulations in highly visible places to allow their employees to get fully informed about state and federal regulations regarding minimum wage and overtime pay and more labor rights.
Wyoming overtime wage
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) requires that Wyoming employees that work in excess of 40 hours a week will receive 1.5 times their usual hourly rate if they work over 40 hours in a work week. This means they will be compensated at a rate of at least $10.88 per hour for qualifying overtime hours. Some workers, however, are exempt.
Wyoming law has not specified overtime limits a day. The following is not a full list of workers that are exempt from Wyoming’s overtime regulations, but it includes the main categories.
- Seasonal and agricultural laborers and outside salespersons hold exempt status, as do domestic workers.
- Professionals, administrators, executives, and government workers are also exempt from Wyoming’s overtime regulations.
- Individuals working on a voluntary basis for educational, religious, charitable, and nonprofit organizations and agencies are exempt from Wyoming’s overtime regulations.
Please note that this post doesn’t contain legal advice. If you have any questions about Wyoming’s minimum wage policies or minimum wage compliance, consult a tax professional or a tax attorney.