In Utah, the minimum wage is $7.25 an hour, which is at the same level as the federal minimum wage. During the past year, 26 states raised their minimum pay rate, but Utah did not.
The last time Utah changed its minimum wage was in 2008, when it was increased to $7.25. Because Utah doesn’t have minimum wage and overtime laws, federal regulations apply.
Studies have shown that in Utah, a reasonable living wage for a single individual without children would be around $14.50 per hour, meaning that persons working at the state’s minimum wage level should be working at least two jobs to meet ends meet and survive.
Well, the fact of the matter is that almost half of all Utah workers (48.6%, to be precise) have jobs that pay under $15 per hour.
Not every Utah employee receives the state’s minimum as some worker categories are exempt. Tipped workers, for instance, can be paid less than Utah’s minimum wage, but if they don’t reach the $7.25 an hour level, employers are required to pay the difference.
So employers can pay tipped workers a cash wage of $2.13. Up to $5.12 an hour in tips can be deducted from an employee’s wage as a tip credit. In Utah, workers are considered tipped employees if they earn at least $30 a month in tips. Chefs, dishwashers, and janitors cannot be regarded as tipped workers in Utah.
To minor employees under the age of 20, a training wage of just $4.25 an hour can be paid, but only for the first 90 days of their employment.
But there are more worker categories that rate exempt from Utah’s minimum wage and overtime regulations. Read more below.
Utah Paycheck Calculator
This Utah Paycheck Calculator transforms your hourly pay into monthly, weekly, and yearly earnings.
How to use the Utah paycheck calculator
- Start with entering your hourly pay.
- Then, put in how many hours you work per week.
- Now, the paycheck calculator shows you how much your hourly pay would be in annual, weekly, and monthly earnings.
How does the Utah paycheck calculator work?
If an employee gets paid per hour, it may be quite difficult to see how much that hourly pay would be in periodical earnings, like per month, week, or year.
For employees that get paid per week or per month, it’s different. They’ll get their paychecks at the end of a working period. So to let hourly workers easily see how their hourly wage translates to earnings per month, week, or year, we developed this paycheck calculator.
Here is how it works: just enter your hourly pay and the number of hours you work a week. Now, our paycheck calculator immediately shows you what your hourly pay is in annual, monthly, and weekly earnings.
|Annual wage =||hourly earnings times
40 hours times 52 weeks
|Monthly wage =||annual earnings divided by 12 months|
|Weekly wage =||hourly earnings times 40 hours|
These results are generated by multiplying your base hourly pay by the number of hours, weeks, or months you work annually, assuming you work 40 hours per week.
Minimum Wage in Utah
So Utah’s minimum hourly wage is $7.25, which translates to $58.00 daily, $290.00 weekly (at 40 work hours), $1256.67 monthly, and $15,080.00 annually.
As said before, not all Utah employees will get the state’s minimum wage. Some categories, such as farm workers, seasonal workers, students, nonprofit workers, and tipped employees may be exempt from Utah’s minimum wage and/or overtime regulations.
In Utah, certain employees with disabilities may be paid under the minimum wage if the employer holds a certificate confirming he can do so.
Learners, student workers, and apprentices may also be paid less than the minimum rate, but trainees must at all times make at least the state’s minimum wage rate.
Full-time students that participate in a university’s learn-work project may receive 85 percent ($6.16) of Utah’s minimum hourly wage. The job, however, must be part-time and for a maximum of 20 hours per week.
Utah minimum wage exemptions
In Utah, a few worker categories don’t need to be paid the official minimum wage rate and/or overtime pay. The following is not a full overview, but it lists common categories:
- Elected officials, administrators, professionals, executives, outside salespersons, and people in public office may be exempt.
- Nonprofit, charitable, religious, and educational organizations can send an application to Utah’s Department of Labor for exempt status.
- Several occupations, such as farm and seasonal workers, newspaper deliverers, and some informal domestic workers, such as babysitters and housekeepers, are exempt from Utah’s minimum pay regulations.
- Tipped workers may be exempt, but in case a worker’s hourly earnings (including tips) are not reaching $7.25 an hour, the employer must pay the difference.
- Youth under the age of 20 can be paid $4.25 per hour as a sort of training wage for the first 90 days.
- Full-time students partaking in a university work-learn project may receive 85% ($6.16) of Utah’s minimum wage. The job must be part-time for up to 20 hours a week.
- Employees with disabilities can also be paid less than the state’s minimum wage rate, but the employer must be certified to do so.
All Utah employers must clearly display a state-designated informative poster with the state’s minimum pay and overtime details in highly visible locations so their employees can be informed about Utah and federal minimum pay and overtime regulations and all relevant labor rights.
Utah overtime wage
Under FLSA (Fair Labor Standards Act) requirements, Utah employees must receive 1.5 times their regular hourly pay if they work more than 40 hours a week. So they will get at least $10.88 an hour for qualifying overtime, but some worker categories are exempt. The following list is not a full overview; it lists the main categories.
- Individuals employed at charitable, educational, religious, or nonprofit organizations may be exempt from Utah’s overtime and minimum wage regulations.
- Some agricultural and seasonal workers and outside salespersons are exempt as well.
- Executives, administrators, and professionals are also exempt from Utah’s overtime regulations.
Please note that this post doesn’t contain legal advice. If you have any questions about Utah’s minimum wage policies or minimum wage compliance, consult a tax professional or a tax attorney.