In South Dakota, the minimum wage for non-tipped workers is $9.95 per hour. This is $2.70 more than the federal minimum wage of $7.25.
However, some worker categories are exempt from South Dakota’s minimum pay and/or overtime regulations.
For instance, South Dakota employers can pay new employees up to 18 years of age a “training wage” of just $4.25 for the first 90 days on the job.
South Dakota’s hourly minimum pay for tipped workers is $4.97, but when an employee isn’t making the state’s minimum pay level of $9.95, including tips, the employer must compensate the employee for the difference.
Full-time students working part-time in a work-learn project provided by a university are paid 85 percent of the minimum rate, so $8.46 an hour, but the job cannot be more than 20 hours a week.
South Dakota has no overtime laws, so the federal FLSA (Fair Labor Standards Act) applies, meaning employees get 1.5 times their regular wage if they work more than 40 hours in a work week (more details below).
South Dakota Paycheck Calculator
This South Dakota Paycheck Calculator transforms hourly wages into weekly, annual, and monthly earnings.
How to use the South Dakota paycheck calculator
- First, put in your hourly pay.
- Second, put in your weekly hours.
- Then, the paycheck calculator displays your hourly pay transformed into weekly, annual, and monthly earnings.
How does the South Dakota paycheck calculator work?
Often, hourly workers can only with difficulty find out how their hourly pay translates to annual, weekly, or monthly earnings.
For workers who receive periodical salaries, for example, per week or month, things are different. They receive periodical paychecks and tax forms at the end of the year.
So to help hourly workers, we designed this paycheck calculator. This is how it works: the only thing you need to do is enter your hourly pay and how many hours you work in a week. Then, the paycheck shows you what your hourly pay is transformed into annual, weekly, and monthly wages.
|Annual pay||= hourly wages times
40 hours times 52 weeks
|Monthly pay||= annual wages divided by 12 months|
|Weekly pay||= hourly wages times 40 hours|
These results are generated by multiplying your base hourly pay by the number of hours, weeks, or months you work annually, assuming you work 40 hours a week.
Minimum Wage in South Dakota
So the South Dakota minimum wage is $9.95, which relates to $79.60 a day, $398.00 a week (at 40 work hours), $1724.66 a month, and $20,696.00 a year.
As said before, not all South Dakota employees qualify for the state’s minimum wage. Some nonprofit workers, domestic workers, and students are exempt from South Dakota’s minimum wage regulations.
South Dakota minimum wage exemptions
South Dakota exempts several employee groups from its minimum pay and overtime regulations. The following overview is not a complete list of exempt groups but of the main categories.
- In South Dakota, employees with developmental disabilities can be paid less than the state’s minimum wage if the employer holds a permit to do so issued by South Dakota’s Department of Labor and Regulation.
- Employers may pay apprentices, learners, and student learners under the minimum wage rate.
- Domestic employees (like babysitters) and workers employed in recreational settings are exempt from South Dakota’s minimum wage requirements. This includes outside salespersons and seasonal amusement workers as well.
- New employees up to the age of 20 can be paid a ‘training wage’ of only $4.25 during the first 90 days.
- Tipped workers can be paid $4.97 an hour. However, if the employee doesn’t make South Dakota’s minimum pay (including tips) of $9.95, the employer needs to pay the difference.
- Employees working for amusement or recreational establishments are exempt from minimum wage payments if the centers are not operating for more than seven months a year
South Dakota all-in-one labor law poster
Rather than printing out posters with South Dakota and Federal labor law information, employers can purchase professional, laminated All-In-One labor law posters. They must display these posters in places of high visibility to make sure their employees can learn all about South Dakota’s minimum pay and overtime regulations and federal labor law requirements.
South Dakota overtime wage
South Dakota doesn’t have any overtime laws, so the federal FLSA (Fair Labor Standards Act) regulations on overtime and executive workers apply.
If a South Dakota employee works over 40 hours in a work week, they are entitled to overtime pay at a rate of 1.5 times their regular wage.
So, in South Dakota, workers are paid at least $14.92 for qualifying overtime hours. But, as always, not all workers are entitled to receive this bonus.
Administrative, executive, and administrative professionals and outside salespersons are exempt from overtime pay requirements, as are summer camp employees at camps that are operating no longer than six months a year.
Nothing in this post constitutes legal advice. So, if you have any questions about South Dakota’s minimum wage and/or overtime laws or compliance, please consult a tax professional or tax attorney.