In South Carolina, the minimum wage is $7.25, the same level as the federal minimum wage. South Carolina has not set a minimum wage rate, so South Carolina workers are subject to the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).
South Carolina’s minimum wage hasn’t changed since 2008 when the U.S. federal minimum hourly rate was raised from $6.55 to $7.25.
Not every South Carolina worker is entitled to the minimum hourly rate. Students may earn only 85 percent of the minimum wage, so $6.16 an hour, and tipped employees may also get paid under the minimum level. There are more groups that are exempt. Read more below.
Because there are no minimum wage or overtime laws in South Carolina, there’s also no tipped minimum wage, so the FLSA regulations apply here as well.
Employers can reduce a tipped worker’s pay to $2.13 if the employee makes $30 or more in tips every month. However, in case a tipped employee’s combined earnings (so including tips) don’t get to the $7.25 level, the employer must pay the difference.
FLSA regulations require that tipped workers spend at least 80 percent of their working hours on duties that generate tips. This is also called the “80/20 rule.”
South Carolina Paycheck Calculator
This South Carolina Paycheck Calculator instantly transforms your hourly wage into weekly, annual, and monthly earnings.
How to use the South Carolina paycheck calculator
- First, enter your hourly wage.
- Second, enter how many hours you work in a week.
- The paycheck calculator displays your hourly wage as monthly, annual, or weekly earnings.
How does the South Carolina paycheck calculator work?
Employees that work on an hourly basis may find it hard to discover how their hourly pay relates to monthly, yearly, or weekly earnings.
For workers with regular periodical salaries, things are quite different. They will receive a paycheck at the end of a work period and tax forms at the end of the year. If hourly use our free paycheck calculator, it will be easy to see how their hourly pay translates to weekly. monthly, and annual wages.
It works like this: just put in your hourly pay and the number of hours your work week. Our paycheck calculator then shows you what that means in terms of weekly, annual, and monthly earnings.
|Annual pay||= hourly earnings times
40 hours times 52 weeks
|Monthly pay||= annual earnings divided by 12 months|
|Weekly pay||= hourly earnings times 40 hours|
These results are generated by multiplying your base hourly pay by the number of hours, weeks, or months you work annually, assuming you work 40 hours per week.
Minimum Wage in South Carolina
So South Carolina’s minimum hourly wage is $7.25. This translates to $58.00 a day, $290.00 a week (at 40 work hours), $1256.67 a month, and $15,080.00 a year.
It’s been said earlier, but not all South Carolina workers will receive the minimum pay. Tipped workers, some students and farm workers, and more workers may get less than the federal minimum pay rate.
South Carolina minimum wage exemptions
South Carolina has no specific minimum wage and overtime laws, so the regulations as formulated in the Fai Labor Standards Act (FLSA) apply in the state.
This means that certain worker categories may be exempt from minimum pay and/or overtime regulations. This overview is definitely not a full list, but it includes the main worker categories:
- Seasonal employees working in the recreation sector providing seasonal amusement may hold exempt status.
- Domestic employees, such as casual babysitters and workers providing care for the disabled and elderly are exempt as well. Domestic service workers that put in more than 40 hours a week, however, are entitled to overtime pay.
- Clerical workers, professional workers in administrative, executive, or other positions, and computer workers are usually exempt from minimum wage regulations as well.
- Employers may pay young workers under 20 only $4.25 an hour (as a training period) during their first 90 days on the job. Keep in mind, however, that minor workers ages 14 and 15 are not allowed to be working during school hours, and in non-school weeks they cannot work more than 40 hours.
- Employees in charitable, nonprofit, religious, and educational organizations may be exempt.
- South Carolina’s tipped minimum is $2.13 per hour. However, if the employee won’t earn $7.25 an hour including tips, the employer must pay the difference.
- Students working in a university’s work-learn project on a part-time basis earn 85% of South Carolina’s minimum rate, so $6.16 an hour.
All South Carolina employers must have a state-approved minimum wage poster clearly displayed in a prominent location so the employees can learn all about South Carolina and federal minimum wage, overtime wage, and other workers’ rights. Failure to comply with this requirement will lead to severe fines for employers.
South Carolina overtime wage
South Carolina labor law doesn’t regulate overtime pay in the workplace. The federal overtime law applies, meaning that all non-exempt workers are entitled to 1.5 times their regular hourly pay for work hours in excess of 40 in a workweek. South Carolina has not set a limit on overtime hours.
To give you an example, let’s look at an employee whose regular pay is $9 per hour. His overtime pay is 1.5 times $9 = $13.50 per hour for those hours that exceed the standard work week of 40 hours. So if the employee works 60 hours, 40 would be paid at $9 an hour, while for the excess hours (20 in total), he would earn $270 (20 times $13.50). His total earnings would be $360 in regular earnings and $270 in overtime earnings, totaling $630.
Business professionals, administrators, executives, outside salespersons, and some computer specialists are exempt from South Carolina’s overtime rules if they make $455 a week or more.
Nothing in this post constitutes legal advice. So, if you have any questions about minimum wage and/or overtime laws or compliance in South Carolina, please consult a tax professional or tax attorney.