In Pennsylvania, the minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, which mirrors the federal minimum rate. Over the last year, over half of the states increased their minimum pay standards, but Pennsylvania is the only Mid-Atlantic state that did not.
Not all Pennsylvania workers receive hourly earnings at this minimum level. Students may be paid just 85% of the state’s minimum wage, and certain employees with disabilities also get less. Estimates are that some 8 percent of all Pennsylvania’s hourly workers are compensated at or below the state’s minimum pay level.
Elected officials, farm and domestic workers, paper deliverers, seasonal camp or recreation employees, and golf caddies are exempt as well from Pennsylvania’s minimum pay and overtime regulations.
Employers can reduce tipped workers’ wages to $2.83 per hour when the employees make at least $135 a month in tips. Previously, this amount was just $30 a month. However, if a tipped employee doesn’t reach the level of $7.25 (including tips) per worked hour, the employer is required to compensate for the difference.
Employers are not allowed to deduct credit card or processing fees from an employee’s tips, and employers must also make clear that a service charge is not a tip for employees. Tipped employees are required to spend no less than 80% of their work time on tasks that generate tips. This is required by federal regulations and is also referred to as the 80/20 rule.
Under Pennsylvania minimum pay laws, employers are not allowed to pay apprentices, student learners, and trainees less than the state’s standard minimum wage.
Pennsylvania Paycheck Calculator
Our Pennsylvania Paycheck Calculator transforms your hourly pay into annual, weekly, and monthly earnings.
How to use this Pennsylvania paycheck calculator
- Step one: enter your hourly wage.
- Step two: enter your weekly work hours.
- The paycheck calculator now translates instantly what your hourly wage means in terms of annual, monthly, or weekly earnings.
How does the Pennsylvania paycheck calculator work?
Hourly workers may find it complicated to see how their hourly wage translates to periodical earnings, like per month, year, or week.
For employees that get periodical salaries, that’s quite different. At the end of a salary period, they get their paychecks and, by the end of the year, their tax forms. If workers who get paid by the hour use this free paycheck calculator, they can easily see what their hourly wage means in terms of earnings per week, year, or month.
It’s very simple: just enter your hourly wage followed by how many hours you work each week. Then, our paycheck calculator instantly displays what that means in monthly, weekly, or annual earnings.
|Annual wage||= hourly earnings times
40 hours times 52 weeks
|Monthly wage||= annual earnings divided by 12 months|
|Weekly wage||= hourly earnings times 40 hours|
These results are generated by multiplying your base hourly pay by the number of hours, weeks, or months you work annually, assuming you work 40 hours per week.
Minimum Wage in Pennsylvania
So Pennsylvania’s hourly minimum wage is $7.25, which translates to $58.00 per day, $290.00 per week (at 40 hours), $1256.67 per month, or $15,080.00 per year.
As said before, not all Pennsylvania employees will get the minimum wage. Tipped workers, farm workers, and some students may receive less than Pennsylvania’s hourly minimum pay rate.
Pennsylvania minimum wage exemptions
Pennsylvania exempts certain groups of workers from its minimum pay and overtime regulations. The following list is not a complete overview, but it includes the main categories:
- farm laborers, domestic service employees working in an employer’s private home, golf caddies, and newspaper delivery workers are exempt from Pennsylvania’s minimum hourly pay rules. Elected officials are also exempt, and disabled workers may get paid under the minimum standards as well.
- Employees in nonprofit, educational, charitable, or religious organizations or seasonal camps may be exempt.
- Pennsylvania exempts professionals, administrators, and executives from its minimum pay requirements if they make at least $780 a week. From October 3, 2022, this will be raised to $875 per week, and outside salespersons are also exempt.
- Pennsylvania’s tipped minimum hourly pay is $2.83. However, before an employer can reduce a worker’s salary to that level, the employee must make at least $135 in tips on a monthly basis.
- Students working part-time in a university’s work-learn program can be paid 85% of Pennsylvania’s minimum rate, so $6.16 per hour, as long as it is a part-time job of no more than 20 hours a week.
- New workers under the age of 20 may get $4.25 an hour as a sort of training wage, but only for their first 90 days.
All Pennsylvania employers must display informative, state-approved posters in prominent locations so their employees can learn all about Pennsylvania’s minimum wage regulations and overtime pay provisions.
Pennsylvania overtime wage
As required by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), Pennsylvania employers must compensate employees that work more than 40 hours in a regular work week at a rate of 1.5 times their usual hourly rate for these overtime hours. But, as always, there are exceptions. The following is not a complete overview of exempt groups, but it includes the main categories.
- Agricultural and farm workers, taxicab drivers, and domestic workers may be exempt from Pennsylvania’s overtime rules.
- Elected officials and announcers, news editors, and chief engineers of smaller radio and television stations are exempt.
- Executives, professionals, administrators, some computer specialists, and outside salespersons may be exempt from Pennsylvania’s overtime rules as long as they earn no less than $780 a week. From October 3, 2022, this is $875 per week.
Nothing in this post constitutes legal advice. So, if you have any questions about Pennsylvania’s minimum wage and/or overtime laws or compliance, please consult a tax professional or tax attorney.