In Oregon, the minimum hourly wage is $13.50 per hour, which is $6.25 greater than the federal minimum pay of $7.25, but there are areas where different rates apply.
The standard $13.50 rate applies to parts of Washington (outside the urban growth boundary), Multnomah, and Clackamas counties, and the counties of Yamhill, Wasco, Tillamook, Polk, Marion, Linn, Lincoln, Lane, Josephine, Jackson, Hood, River, Deschutes, Columbia, Clatsop, and Benton.
In the Portland area, the minimum wage is $14.75, and in some non-urban areas, the minimum rate is $12.50. The Portland area rate includes parts of Washington, Multnomah, and Clackamas Counties.
Oregon’s $12.50 hourly minimum rate counts for the counties of Wheeler, Wallowa, Union, Umatilla, Sherman, Morrow, Malheur, Lake, Klamath, Jefferson, Harney, Grant, Gilliam, Douglas, Curry, Crook, Coos, and Baker.
In Oregon, an employer can make deductions from an employee’s wages for lodging and/or meals, but paying tipped employees less than the state’s minimum standard is not allowed. Tips cannot count as wages in Oregon. They are separate, and tip credits are illegal.
For adult workers, Oregon labor law requires employers to arrange for a 10-minute rest period every 4 hours, while minors should have a 15-minute rest period every 4 hours. In Oregon, the minimum wage standard is the same for minors and adults.
Administrative, executive, professional employees, outside salespersons, and some computer specialists may also be exempt from Oregon’s minimum wage and overtime pay if they meet strict criteria. But there are more exempt worker groups (read more below).
Oregon Paycheck Calculator
The Oregon Paycheck Calculator translates your hourly pay to monthly, annual, and weekly earnings.
How to use the Oregon paycheck calculator
- Step one, enter your hourly pay.
- Step two, enter your weekly work hours.
- Then you see how the paycheck calculator displays your hourly pay in monthly, annual, and weekly earnings.
How does the Oregon paycheck calculator work?
Workers who are paid on an hourly basis may find it complicated to see how their hourly pay translates to periodical earnings, like per month, year, or week.
For employees with periodical salaries, like per week or month, that’s quite different as they’ll receive a paycheck at the end of their work period and their tax forms by the end of the year. With the help of our Oregon paycheck calculator, it all gets a lot easier as it displays your hourly pay in weekly, annual, and monthly earnings.
The only thing you’ll need to do is enter your hourly pay and how many hours you work in a week. Then, our paycheck calculator tells you instantly how that translates to annual, monthly, and weekly earnings.
|Annual pay||= hourly earnings times
40 hours times 52 weeks
|Monthly pay||= annual earnings divided by 12 months|
|Weekly pay||= hourly earnings times 40 hours|
These results are generated by multiplying your base hourly pay by the number of hours, weeks, or months you work annually, assuming you work 40 hours a week.
Minimum Wage in Oregon
So the Oregon minimum wage is, in most of the state, $13.50 an hour, which translates to $108.00 a day, $540.00 a week (at 40 hours), $2340.00 a month, and $28,080.00 a year.
In the metro Portland area, where the minimum hourly pay is $14.75, this relates to $118.00 a day, $590.00 a week (at 40 hours), $2556.67 a month, and $30,680.00 a year.
In non-urban Oregon areas, where an hourly minimum pay of $12.50 counts, that relates to $100.00 a day, $500.00 a week (at 40 hours), $2166.67 a month, and $26,000.00 a year.
As said above, not every Oregon employee qualifies for the state’s minimum hourly pay. Some nonprofit workers and U.S. government employees, for instance, are exempt from Oregon’s minimum wage under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) or Oregon regulations.
Oregon employers cannot pay you less than the area’s minimum hourly wage unless you have a position that’s exempt from the state’s minimum wage requirements under federal or state law.
Just about all Oregon employers are entitled to the state’s minimum wage laws. The minimum salary to be eligible for exempt status is $684 a week or $35,568 a year.
Oregon minimum wage exemptions
Oregon exempts the following workers from its minimum pay and/or overtime requirements. This is not a complete overview, but it lists the main categories.
- Some agricultural employees working in the production of livestock, and operators of taxicabs are exempt, as are persons employed by the U.S. Government.
- Persons providing child care in their own homes or the homes of the children, companionship providers for the disabled, elderly, or infirm in a family home, and residential managers of foster care homes are exempt as well.
- Domestic workers with casual jobs (for example, babysitters) and some workers employed in multiunit accommodations such as mobile home parks and manufactured dwelling parks may hold exempt status.
- Students partaking in work-learn projects at a university may receive 85 percent of the minimum wage applicable in their region.
- Seasonal workers in educational camps or charitable, educational, religious purposes, volunteers at campgrounds, recreational youth soccer match referees, golf caddies, marshalls, and some ski patrollers may also be exempt from Oregon’s minimum pay and/or overtime regulations.
In line with FLSA (Fair Labor Standards Act) regulations, all Oregon employers are required to display state-designated posters in prominent locations to inform the employees about Oregon’s minimum pay rules and other workers’ rights.
Oregon overtime wage
Employers in Oregon must pay workers for overtime hours in excess of 40 in a regular work week at a rate of 1.5 times their regular hourly rate. This doesn’t apply, however, to all employees.
So, in Oregon, the overtime rate depends on your region. In the metro Portland region, the overtime wage is at least $22.12 (150% times $14.75); in non-urban areas, the rate is $18.75 (1.5 times $12.50), while for the rest of the state, a minimum hourly overtime rate counts of $20.25 (1.5 times $13.50). There are, however, some exempt categories. The following is not a complete overview, but it includes the main categories:
- For domestic workers living in an employer’s home, overtime hours only count after 44 weekly working hours.
- Agricultural workers are exempt from overtime pay.
- Executive, administrative, and professional employees making more than $35,568 annually are exempt from Oregon’s overtime wage regulations.
- Outside salespersons, taxicab operators, and United States government employees also hold exempt status.
Nothing in this post constitutes legal advice. So, if you have any questions about Oregon’s minimum wage and/or overtime laws or compliance, please consult a tax professional or tax attorney.