Minimum Wage in Oklahoma – weekly, monthly, annually

In Oklahoma, the minimum hourly pay is $7.25, which equals the federal minimum wage rate. Over the past year, more than half of the states decided to increase their minimum wage standards, but Oklahoma wasn’t among them.

Oklahoma follows the Federal minimum wage rate laws. However, Oklahoma has set a special minimum wage rate of $2.00 an hour for workers not covered under federal rules.

Oklahoma’s minimum pay requirements apply to employers grossing $100k or more annually or employing ten workers or more.

Tipped workers are exempt from Oklahoma’s minimum pay regulations. The tipped minimum wage is $3.63 an hour, but if a tipped worker’s hourly wage, including tips, doesn’t reach the state’s minimum rate ($7.25), the workers must be compensated for the difference by the employer.

Oklahoma’s minimum wage and overtime regulations do not apply to farm and ranch workers, deputy sheriffs, and government employees as well.

Domestic workers like maids, babysitters, and housekeepers are all exempt from the state’s minimum pay regulations, as are railroad workers, feed store employees, temporary part-time employees, and some students.

full-time enrolled students that work at a university in a work-learn program may be paid 85% ($6.16) of Oklahoma’s minimum pay rate.

Oklahoma Paycheck Calculator

Our Oklahoma Paycheck Calculator will instantly transform hourly earnings into annual, monthly, or weekly wages.

How to use our Oklahoma paycheck calculator

  1. First, put in your hourly pay.
  2. Second, put in your weekly hours.
  3. Our paycheck calculator instantly tells you what that means in terms of monthly, annual, and weekly earnings.

How does the Oklahoma paycheck calculator work?

Employees who get paid by the hour usually find it complicated to calculate how their hourly earnings translate to periodical wages, for example, per year, month, or week.

For employees who are paid every week or month, it is quite different. They will periodically get a paycheck and, at the end of a year, also their tax forms. If you use our free Oklahoma paycheck calculator, it is easy to see how your hourly earnings relate to periodical earnings per year, month, or week.

It works like this: you only have to put in your hourly pay followed by the number of hours you work per week. The paycheck calculator will instantly show you how that translates to earnings per month, week, or year.

Time period Equation
Annual pay = hourly wages times
40 hours times 52 weeks
Monthly pay = annual wages divided by 12 months
Weekly pay = hourly wages times 40 hours

These results are generated by multiplying your base hourly pay by the number of hours, weeks, or months you work annually, assuming you work 40 hours a week.

Minimum Wage in Oklahoma

So Oklahoma’s minimum hourly pay is $7.25, which relates to $58.00 a day, $290.00 a week (if you work 40 hours), $1256.67 a month, and $15,080.00 a year.

Minimum wage and overtime regulations do not apply to Oklahoma businesses that have under ten employees or annual gross revenue of less than $100k.

As stated before, not all Oklahoma employees may receive the state’s minimum wage rate. Tipped workers, farm workers, agricultural and seasonal workers, and some university students may be exempt from Oklahoma’s minimum pay and overtime regulations.

Oklahoma minimum wage exemptions

Several Oklahoma worker categories may be paid less than the state or federal minimum wage level, and these categories may also not be eligible for overtime wages. The following is not a full overview, but it lists the main categories of exempt workers:

  • Oklahoma exempts administrators, executives, outside salespersons, and business professionals from minimum pay requirements.
  • Employees with disabilities may receive less than the state’s minimum wage rate if the employer is certified to do so.
  • Persons working in domestic services in or about private homes, employees of the Federal Government, newspaper carriers and vendors, and volunteers in nonprofit, charitable, and religious organizations are exempt.
  • In Oklahoma, learners and apprentices may get paid under the state minimum wage rate. Students, however, must earn at least that standard unless they partake in a work-learn project.
  • Workers employed by a business grossing less than $100k are exempt from the state’s minimum pay rules.
  • Oklahoma’s tipped minimum pay is $3.63 per hour. Employers can take a tip credit of 50 percent; however, if the tipped worker doesn’t make the hourly minimum wage of $7.25, the employer must cover the difference.
  • Farm and ranch workers and domestic workers such as babysitters, housekeepers, or maids are also exempt,
  • Government employees, feed store employees, railroad workers, and deputy sheriffs are not bound by Oklahoma’s minimum wage and overtime regulations.
  • Temporary part-time workers and students working part-time in a work-study program from a university may get 85% ($6.16) an hour.
  • Employees younger than 20 can be paid $4.25 an hour as a training wage, but not for more than the first 90 days on the job.

All Oklahoma employers are obligated to display state-approved posters in highly visible positions to inform their employees about Oklahoma’s minimum wage and overtime pay regulations.

Oklahoma overtime wage

The federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) orders Oklahoma employers to compensate workers that put in over 40 hours into a work week at a rate of 150% of their usual hourly wage for those overtime hours.

So, they are entitled to 1.5 times their regular hourly wage, which means that they will get paid at least $10.88 for each overtime hour. But there are some exceptions. The following worker categories may be exempt, but please note that this is not a complete overview. More workers may be exempt.

  • Agricultural, farm and ranch workers, and individuals that work in feedstores for farmers and ranchers are exempt from Oklahoma’s overtime pay rules.
  • Live-in employees such as housekeepers or babysitters, and newspaper carriers and vendors are exempt from Oklahoma’s overtime pay regulations.
  • Persons that work as volunteers for nonprofit, educational, charitable, or religious organizations hold exempt status.
  • Business professionals, administrators, executives, outside salespersons, United States government employees, and reserve force deputy sheriffs may also be exempt from Oklahoma’s overtime rules.

Under Oklahoma labor laws, employers must provide employees younger than 16 a 30-minute break if they work more than 5 consecutive hours. If these young employees work 8 consecutive hours, employers are required to provide a 1-hour rest period.

Nothing in this post constitutes legal advice. So, if you have any questions about Oklahoma’s minimum wage and/or overtime laws or compliance, please consult a tax professional or tax attorney.