In Ohio, the minimum wage is $9.30 an hour. This is $2.05 over the federal minimum pay of $7.25 an hour.
Ohio’s minimum wage regulations apply to most employees, with only limited exceptions, such as some student workers, tipped employees, and other exempt positions.
Ohio’s tipped wage rate is $4.65. Tipped workers are those who have occupations in which they customarily and regularly receive over thirty dollars a month in tips or gratuities. Employers using tip credit provision must compensate the workers if their cash wages plus tip credit combined do not reach the minimum state level.
Employees working for small businesses grossing under $314k annually can be paid at the federal minimum wage level, which is $7.25 an hour, instead of the Ohio rate, which is higher ($9.30).
New workers under the age of 20 may earn $4.25/hour, but for no longer than the first 90 days, and students engaged in a university learn-work program can be paid 85 percent ($7.91) of Ohio’s minimum hourly wage if the job is part-time for no more than 20 hours/week.
Disabled or handicapped employees may receive less than the minimum wage in Ohio, but the employers must hold a certificate from the state’s Department of Commerce to do so.
Ohio Paycheck Calculator
Our Ohio Paycheck Calculator instantly translates hourly wages to weekly, monthly, or annual earnings.
How to use our Ohio paycheck calculator
- First, put in your hourly wage.
- Second, put in how many hours you work per week.
- Then, our paycheck calculator will display your hourly wages translated to annual, monthly, or weekly earnings.
How does the Ohio paycheck calculator work?
Workers that are paid by the hour usually find it complicated to understand what their hourly wage would mean in periodical earnings, such as per year, month, or week.
For employees that get paid every week or month, that’s different. They will get their periodical paychecks at the end of a work period and tax forms at the end of the year. With this Ohio paycheck calculator, you will be able to instantly see what your hourly wage means in terms of weekly, monthly, and annual earnings.
It works quite simply. You only need to put in your hourly pay and the number of hours you work per week. Then, the paycheck calculator instantly shows you what your weekly, annual, or monthly earnings would be.
|Annual pay =||hourly wages times
40 hours times 52 weeks
|Monthly pay =||annual wages divided by 12 months|
|Weekly pay =||hourly wages times 40 hours|
These results are generated by multiplying your base hourly pay by the number of hours, weeks, or months you work annually, assuming you work 40 hours per week.
Minimum Wage in Ohio
So the Ohio hourly minimum wage is $9.30, which translates to $74.40 daily, $372.00 weekly (at 40 work hours), $1612.00 monthly, and $19,344.00 annually.
As said earlier, not every Ohio worker qualifies to earn the state’s minimum hourly wage. Some employees, for example, nonprofit employees, tipped workers, and some students, are exempt from Ohio’s minimum pay under FLSA (Fair Labor Standards Act) or Ohio regulations.
Ohio minimum wage exemptions
In Ohio, some groups of workers are exempt from the state’s minimum wage regulations. The following overview is not a full list of exempt categories, but it includes the main groups:
- Individuals employed by the U.S. Government.
- Individuals working in-house as babysitters or companions for sick, convalescing, or elderly persons.
- Outside salesman, administrative, executive, and professional employees.
- Volunteers working for nonprofit, charitable, or public organizations.
- Volunteers working in medical settings, health institutions, or hospitals, and employees providing home care.
- Persons working at youth camps or recreational areas operated by non-profit organizations.
- Employees of small businesses that gross under $314.000 a year.
- Direct family members of a business owner.
- Tipped employees in Ohio can be paid $4.65 an hour. If the employee doesn’t reach the level of the state’s minimum rate of $7.25, however, the employer must pay the difference.
- New employees under 20 years of age can be paid $4.25 an hour, but only for the first 90 days of employment.
- Ohio full-time students may get 85% ($7.91) of Ohio’s minimum wage if they attend a work-study program from a university. They cannot be working more than 20 hours a week.
- Workers with a disability may be paid a subminimum rate if the employer is certified to do so by Ohio’s Department of Commerce.
Every Ohio employer has the obligation to clearly display state-approved posters in highly prominent places to inform the workers about Ohio’s minimum hourly pay regulations and other labor rights under state and federal law.
Ohio overtime wage
Ohio employers must pay employees for overtime hours (more than 40 per regular work week) at a rate of 1.5 times their normal hourly wage rate. However, this doesn’t count for employers grossing less than $150k per year. Ohio does not set a limit on overtime hours.
So, in Ohio, qualifying overtime hours are paid at a rate of at least $13.95 (150% times $9.30). There are some exceptions, though. The following is not a full overview, but it lists the main groups:
- Employees working in domestic settings, such as babysitters and companions to the elderly, convalescing or sick, may be exempt from overtime regulations as long as the work doesn’t include housekeeping tasks.
- Ohio’s overtime rules do not count for persons working for the house of representatives or the senate.
- Persons that provide charitable services in hospitals and healthcare institutions on a voluntary basis are also exempt, as are workers for nonprofit organizations in camps or recreational areas for children younger than 18.
- Ohio’s overtime and minimum pay regulations do not apply to outside salespersons and newspaper delivery workers.
- Executive, administrative, and managerial workers who make at least $684 a week ($35,568 a year) are exempt from Ohio’s overtime regulations.
Nothing in this post constitutes legal advice. So, if you have any questions about Ohio’s minimum wage and/or overtime laws or compliance, please consult a tax professional or tax attorney.