In North Dakota, the minimum wage is $7.25 an hour. This mirrors the federal minimum pay. In the last year, 26 states did increase the minimum pay standards, but North Dakota wasn’t one of them.
Workers with disabilities and some full-time students may earn less than North Dakota’s minimum wage rate, provided their employers are licensed to do so by the state’s Department of Labor.
In North Dakota, employers are required to pay tipped workers no less than $4.86 an hour, but if the employee’s hourly pay, including tips, is less than the minimum rate of $7.25, the employer must pay the difference.
North Dakota prohibits employers from requiring workers (except in some gaming sectors) to participate in tip pooling arrangements. However, tipped workers may agree to do so.
In North Dakota, employers are not allowed to pay trainees and apprentices under the minimum wage rate, but learners enrolled in career and technical education programs may receive subminimum wages.
Agricultural and domestic North Dakota workers may be exempt from the state’s minimum wage and overtime regulations, and full-time students that work in a university’s work-learn project may receive only 90% ($6.52) of the state minimum rate.
North Dakota Paycheck Calculator
This North Dakota Paycheck Calculator instantly transforms your hourly earnings into weekly, annual, or monthly wages.
How to use the North Dakota paycheck calculator
- Enter your hourly earnings.
- Enter your weekly hours.
- Then, the paycheck calculator shows you what your hourly earnings mean in terms of annual, weekly, and monthly wages.
How does our North Dakota paycheck calculator work?
Hourly paid employees may find it pretty complicated to determine how their hourly pay translates to periodical wages like annual, monthly, or weekly.
Things work differently for workers who get paid every month, biweekly, or once a week. With the help of our North Dakota paycheck calculator, you can instantly see your hourly pay transformed into annual, monthly, or weekly wages.
Let’s see how that works. The only thing you have to do is enter your hourly wage and how many hours you work in a regular work week. Our paycheck calculator shows you instantly what that means in monthly, weekly, and annual earnings.
|Annual wage||= hourly earnings times
40 hours times 52 weeks
|Monthly wage||= annual earnings divided by 12 months|
|Weekly wage||= hourly earnings times 40 hours|
These results are generated by multiplying your base hourly pay by the number of hours, weeks, or months you work annually, assuming you work 40 hours a week.
Minimum Wage in North Dakota
So North Dakota’s minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. This translates to $58.00 daily, $290.00 weekly (at 40 work hours), $1256.67 monthly, and $15,080.00 annually.
North Dakota’s minimum pay policies vary considerably from its neighbors, South Dakota ($9.95), Minnesota ($10.33), and Montana ($9.20). These bordering states have their minimum wage levels quite higher than the minimum federal rate ($7.25) and adjust their minimum wage rates every year.
As stated earlier, not all North Dakota workers may get paid the state’s minimum wage. Some employees, such as tipped workers, farm and agricultural workers, nonprofit workers, or college students, may hold exempt status under state and FLSA (Fair Labor Standards Act) rules and regulations.
North Dakota minimum wage exemptions
In North Dakota, several groups of employees may earn under the state minimum wage level and not qualify for overtime pay. The following list is not a full overview; it includes the main exempt categories:
- North Dakota exempts administrators, professionals, executives, and some computer workers from its minimum pay and overtime regulations.
- Outside salespersons are exempt if they are regularly and customarily working away from their employer’s premises.
- North Dakota exempts workers in artistic professions such as publishers, editors, cartoonists, columnists, critics, graphic artists, writers, novelists, actors, musicians, conductors, composers, and soloists.
- individuals working at nonprofit camps directly youth-related and intended for educational purposes;
- Persons working as cooks, guides, or camp-tenders for hunting or fishing guide services and golf caddies are also exempt.
- Volunteers working (usually part-time) in nonprofit, religious, educational, or medical settings and workers who provide home care may be exempt.
- Tipped workers in North Dakota may be paid $4.86 per hour. If, however, the worker doesn’t make, including tips, the state minimum rate ($7.25), the worker must be compensated by the employer for the difference.
- New employees younger than 20 may get $4.25 per hour as a training wage, but only for up to the first 90 days.
- Full-time and vocational students may receive 90% ($6.52) of North Dakota’s minimum rate if they are employed in a work-study program provided by a university. The job must be part-time for 20 hours a week max.
- In North Dakota, employers can employees with disabilities less than the minimum rate if the worker holds a special certificate issued by the state’s Department of Labor & Human Rights.
Every North Dakota employer is obligated to display a state-approved informative poster in a highly prominent place, so the employees have the chance to learn all about North Dakota’s minimum wage laws and their labor rights.
North Dakota overtime wage
According to Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) regulations, North Dakota employees that put in more than 40 hours of work in a regular work week must be paid 1.5 times their regular hourly pay for qualifying overtime hours.
So, they will receive 150 percent of their regular hourly pay, meaning they’ll be paid $10.88 an hour or more for overtime hours. There are, however, quite a few exceptions. The following is not a complete overview. We list only the main categories that may be exempt:
- Agricultural workers and employees working in domestic services, such as housekeepers or babysitters.
- Employees that offer direct care to clients in a foster care, shelter, or related organization providing prevention, education, temporary shelter, or crisis prevention services.
- Commissioned salespersons in retail boat, trailer, automobile, truck, aircraft, or farm equipment dealerships, and commission-paid mechanics.
- Employees of radio and television stations, such as news editors, announcers, and engineers.
- highly compensated employees such as business professionals, administrators, and executives are also exempt from North Dakota’s overtime laws.
Nothing in this post constitutes legal advice. So, if you have any questions about North Dakota’s minimum wage and/or overtime laws or compliance, please consult a tax professional or tax attorney.