In Nevada, the minimum wage is $9.50 or $10.50 per hour, which is $2.25 or $3.50 greater than the federal minimum hourly wage of $7.25.
The lower tier rate is for employees that are offered qualifying health benefits. If employees have not been offered qualifying health benefits, the minimum hourly wage is $10.50.
Employers must pay workers Nevada’s minimum wage for all hours worked unless the worker or employer holds exempt status as defined by federal or state law.
Nevada employers are not allowed to pay tipped workers less than the state’s minimum wage rate, so $9.50 or $10.50 an hour.
Nevada law prohibits employers from paying trainees, apprentices, student learners, or student workers under the state’s standard minimum wage rate.
In Nevada, white-collar workers are generally exempt from the state’s minimum wage requirements, but clerical workers do usually not hold exempt status.
Nevada’s overtime pay requirements may not apply to employees of small businesses with gross annual sales of $250k or less.
Nevada Paycheck Calculator
Our Nevada Paycheck Calculator converts your hourly wage to weekly, monthly, or annual earnings.
How to use this Nevada paycheck calculator
- Step one, enter your hourly pay.
- Step two, enter how many hours you work per week.
- Now, our paycheck calculator will show you how that translates to annual, monthly, or weekly earnings.
How does our Nevada paycheck calculator work?
If you get paid by the hour, it may be hard to understand how your hourly pay translates to earnings per month, per week, or year. For employees with a steady salary period (month, week, or biweekly), things are relatively uncomplicated. At the end of their work period, they will receive their paychecks, and by the end of the year, they will receive their tax forms.
For hourly workers, things are different, and to help these workers figure out how their hourly pay translates to monthly, weekly, or annual earnings, we designed this great paycheck calculator. Here’s how it works. The only thing you have to do is enter hourly pay and the number of hours you work each week. Now, our paycheck calculator shows you what that means in earnings per month, week, or year.
|Annual wage =||hourly pay times
40 hours times 52 weeks
|Monthly wage =||annual pay divided by 12 months|
|Weekly wage =||hourly pay times 40 hours|
These results are generated by multiplying your base hourly pay by the number of hours, weeks, or months you work annually, assuming you work 40 hours per week.
Minimum Wage in Nevada
So the Nevada minimum wage is $9.50 (lower tier) or $10.50 per hour (higher tier).
For workers that make $9.50 an hour, this translates to $76.00 per day, $380.00 per week (at 40 work hours), $1646.67 per month, and $19,760.00 per year.
For workers that receive $10.50 an hour, this translates to $84.00 per day, $420.00 per week (at 40 work hours), $1820.00 per month, and $21,840.00 per year.
As stated before, not all Nevada employees are entitled to these minimum hourly wages. Some categories of workers are exempt from Nevada’s minimum pay regulations.
Nevada minimum wage exemptions
The following overview doesn’t include all of Nevada’s exempt worker groups, but it lists the main categories.
- White-collar employees are usually exempt from Nevada’s minimum wage regulations.
- Executive and administrative workers, professionals, outside salespeople, and some computer professionals may also be exempt, as are highly paid employees that earn $134k annually and independent contractors.
- In Nevada, employees with disabilities may receive a subminimum wage when the employee works in a day training program that is exempt from the state’s minimum wage requirement.
- Some domestic workers, like housekeepers and casual workers such as babysitters, may be exempt.
In Nevada, like in other states, employers must display state-approved informative posters in a highly visible location to inform workers about Nevada’s minimum wage and overtime regulations and other rights under state and federal laws.
Nevada overtime wage
In Nevada, workers that put in more than 40 hours a week are entitled to one-half times their usual hourly wages, and this counts for both tiers, so then, their minimum hourly rate is $14.25 for workers that are offered health benefits and $15.75 for workers that are not offered health benefits.
Nevada law additionally provides overtime pay at one and one-half times the regular rate if an employee works over 8 hours in a 24-hour time frame.
Exempt from Nevada’s overtime pay regulations are, among others:
- Employees working for businesses grossing less than $250,000 annually.
- Taxicab and limousine drivers.
- agricultural and seasonal workers.
- salespersons and mechanics selling or servicing farm equipment, automobiles, or trucks.
- Domestic service workers, such as housekeepers.
What is work time?
Work time covers the hours during which workers are engaged in duties and/or tasks for employers. This includes all hours workers are paid or should receive pay for activities initiated and/or controlled by employers.
If a position involves traveling from customer to customer, to suppliers, or any other work-related travel, those hours are counted as work time. Regular commuting hours from home to work and vice versa are not counted as work time.
Please note that this post doesn’t contain legal advice. If you have any questions about Nevada’s minimum wage policies or minimum wage compliance, consult a tax professional or a tax attorney.