Mississippi has no minimum wage law. Most employers are subject to the FLSA (Fair Labor Standards Act) and must pay their workers at least the Federal Minimum Wage rate of $7.25 an hour.
Local governments, cities, and counties are not allowed to set their own minimum wage rates in Mississippi.
Not all employees receive the minimum rate as required under the Fair Labor Standards Act, including tipped workers, administrative, executive, or professional employees, outside salespersons, or workers in specific computer-related occupations.
Full-time students on a part-time work-learn job may also hold exempt status, as do some seasonal amusement and recreational workers, specific farm and seasonal workers, in-house workers such as babysitters, and persons working as companions to the infirm or elderly.
The Mississippi minimum hourly rate for tipped workers is currently $2.13 an hour. However, if a tipped worker’s combined hourly wage doesn’t equal the minimum pay ($7.25), the employer must compensate the employee for the difference.
Mississippi allows employers to pay a training wage of $4.25 to workers younger than 20 years of age for the initial 90 days in a new job.
In Mississippi, student trainees, agricultural and seasonal workers, outside salespersons, live-in employees like babysitters, and more categories may not receive the state’s minimum rate of $7.25 (read more below),
Mississippi Paycheck Calculator
Our Mississippi Paycheck Calculator converts hourly earnings instantly to annual, monthly, and weekly wages.
How to use this Mississippi paycheck calculator
- Put in your hourly pay.
- Put in how many hours you work in a week.
- The paycheck calculator now converts your hourly pay into earnings per week, month, or year.
How does our Mississippi paycheck calculator work?
For most employees, understanding their paychecks and periodical earnings is a rather uncomplicated process. They’ll get their paychecks at the end of a month or week, and at the end of the year, they’ll get their tax forms.
For employees, however, who get hourly pay, things work differently. Understanding how hourly pay compares to weekly or monthly earnings is more complicated. So, to help you figure out how your hourly pay translates to annual, monthly, or weekly wages, we designed this paycheck calculator.
This is how it works: the only thing you have to do is enter your hourly earnings and the number of hours you work per week. Our paycheck calculator now displays how your hourly earnings relate to weekly, monthly, and annual wages.
|Annual wage =||hourly pay times
40 hours times 52 weeks
|Monthly wage =||annual pay divided by 12 months|
|Weekly wage =||hourly pay times 40 hours|
These results are generated by multiplying your base hourly salary by the number of hours, weeks, or months you work yearly, assuming that you’re working 40 hours per week.
Minimum Wage in Mississippi
So the Mississippi minimum hourly wage is $7.25, which translates to $58.00 per day, $290.80 per week (at 40 hours a week), $1256.67 per month, and $15,080.00 per year.
Not all Mississippi employees are entitled to this minimum wage rate. Several employee categories are exempt. For example, the Mississippi minimum rate does not apply to tipped service workers, tipped restaurant and bar workers, some college or high school students, and more categories.
Minimum wage exemptions in Mississippi
The following list is not a full overview of categories that are exempt from Mississippi’s minimum hourly wages ($7.25), but it lists the main categories.
- Mississippi employers can pay their tipped workers $2.13 per hour. However, if the employee’s combined earnings (including tips) don’t reach the level of the state’s minimum pay (so, at least $7.25), the employer is required to pay the difference.
- Full-time college and high school students engaged in part-time work-learn jobs may receive 85% of the minimum wage, so $6.16 an hour, if the job is no longer than 20 hours a week.
- External salespeople and some seasonal amusement and recreational workers may be paid less than the state minimum wage rate.
- Certain agricultural or seasonal workers may be paid under Mississippi’s minimum requirements.
- In-house employees such as babysitters and housekeepers may be exempt from minimum wage rates.
- Persons working as companions to the elderly or infirm may not have to receive the Mississippi hourly minimum wage.
- New employees younger than 20 may receive a “trainee wage” of only $4.25 per hour, but only for the first 90 days on the new job.
Mississippi overtime wage
In Mississippi, there is no state overtime law. So, employers need to follow the federal FLSA (Fair Labor Standards Act), which regulates that all workers be paid 1.5 times their regular rate for hours worked more than 40 in a workweek, so at least $10.87.
But there are quite a few Mississippi employees that are exempt from the overtime wage requirements. These workers include:
- administrative, executive, and professional employees, outside salespersons, and workers in specific computer-related positions.
- Certain seasonal amusement and recreational establishment workers.
- Certain farm and seasonal workers.
- In-house service workers and casual workers such as babysitters.
- People that work as elderly or infirm companions, news editors, announcers, and engineers in certain rural broadcasting systems.
- Some commissioned retail business employees, car salespersons and other sales workers, and certain mechanics and parts clerks.
- taxi drivers, some transportation workers, and workers in movie theaters.
What is considered work time?
Work time includes all hours in which an employee carries out assignments and/or duties for an employer. Work time relates to all the time that an employee receives pay or should receive pay for activities that an employer controls and/or initiates and from which the employer benefits.
Many employees have a job that requires frequent traveling to visit customers or clients. This often happens to salespeople, tradespeople like plumbers, workers in the healthcare sector, or teachers with jobs at multiple schools. For this type of employee, travel time between home and work may also count as work time, but in general, regular commute time from home to work doesn’t count as work time.
Please note that this post doesn’t contain legal advice. If you have any questions about Mississippi’s minimum wage policies or minimum wage compliance, consult a tax professional or a tax attorney.