In 2022, the Kansas minimum hourly wage standards have remained the same as they were in previous years, $7.25. Since 2009, nothing has changed. This is the same level as the federal minimum wage, which has not changed since 2009 as well.
In Kansas, the minimum wage applies to the majority of employees, with only limited exceptions, such as certain tipped workers, students, and part-time workers, but there are more exempt occupations.
Federal law provides for exemptions such as tipped workers, outside salespersons, students, and some more sectors.
Tipped employees can be paid $2.13 an hour, but if the employees don’t make the minimum standard of $7.25, including tips, then the employers must pay the difference.
Employers are also allowed to pay new workers younger than 20 an initial compensation of 85% of the state minimum, so $6.16 an hour, during the first 90 days on the job.
More employees are exempt from earning the minimum wage standard in Kansas. College and high school students engaged in work-study programs, for example, may also get just 85% ($6.16) of Kansas’ minimum hourly rate.
On the other hand, federal contractor workers active in Kansas must receive at least an hourly wage of $10.80.
Kansas Paycheck Calculator
Our Kansas Paycheck Calculator is a great tool to convert your hourly pay to weekly, monthly, or annual earnings.
How to use the Kansas paycheck calculator
- First, enter your hourly wage.
- Second, enter how many hours you work each week.
- The paycheck calculator will now translate your hourly wage into weekly, monthly, or annual earnings.
How does our Kansas paycheck calculator work?
Workers with a regular job will most likely understand their paycheck and income quite easily. Periodically, generally once a week, biweekly, or at the end of the month, they will get a paycheck, and at year’s end. they will receive their tax forms.
So for employees with periodical paychecks, understanding their income won’t be that complicated, but for employees that get paid by the hour, things might become a bit tricky and more complicated. For these workers, it may be complex to figure out in what way their hourly wages compare to monthly, weekly, or annual earnings.
For these hourly employees, we developed our paycheck calculator, a great tool to learn how hourly pay relates to periodical earnings per week, month, or year.
|Annual pay =||hourly wages times
40 hours times 52 weeks
|Monthly pay =||annual wages divided by 12 months|
|Weekly pay =||hourly wages times 40 hours|
These results are generated by multiplying your base hourly salary by the number of hours, weeks, or months you work yearly, assuming that you’re working 40 hours per week.
Minimum Wage in Kansas
So in Kansas, the minimum hourly wage employers must pay their employees is $7.25, which translates to $58 per day, $290 per week (at 40 hours), $1257 per month, or $15,080 per year.
As said before, not all Kansas employees will earn the state’s minimum rate. Workers that receive gratuity pay, some full-time high school and college students with part-time jobs, and more groups are exempt from the state’s minimum pay.
Kansas employers must abide by labor laws and regulations as defined by federal and state law, and all labor laws are enforced by Kansas’ Department of Employment. Kansas employers cannot pay workers with disabilities below the standard minimum wage rate.
Minimum wage exemptions in Kansas
As said before, Kansas’ minimum wage rate applies to most employees, but there are worker categories that are specifically exempt under Kansas and federal law. The following is not a full overview of exempt categories, but are the main categories:
- Tipped workers may receive the federal tipped worker minimum wage rate of $2.13 an hour, provided the employee gets more than $30 in tips a month. If the employee’s hourly pay (including tips) doesn’t reach the $7.25 level for each worked hour, the employer must compensate the worker.
- Student-workers with part-time jobs of up to 20 hours may receive only 85% of Kansas’ minimum wage rate (so $6.16 an hour).
- Employees younger than 20 may receive a ‘training wage’ of just $4.25 an hour, but for no longer than the first 90 days.
- Seasonal workers, farm workers, newspaper deliverers, and ‘informal’ workers (such as babysitters) are also among workers that may be exempt from minimum wage regulations.
Kansas overtime wage
The FLSA (Federal Fair Labor Standards Act) covers overtime procedures and regulations in Kansas. Employees that work over 40 hours in one week get paid 1.5 times (150%) the standard pay rate for qualifying overtime hours. In Kansas, there is no limit on overtime work hours.
Overtime work hours are not calculated by day; overtime hours count per week. Some workers, however, are exempt from Kansas’ overtime regulations, including some commercial drivers and outside salespeople, just to mention a few.
Federal Fair Labor Standards Act regulations and Kansas law require all businesses with employees to clearly display minimum wage posters. They must do so in prominent places of high visibility so their employees can learn about Kansas’ minimum wage level and their workers’ rights under state and federal laws.
What is work time?
It is generally accepted that work time includes those hours that workers perform duties and assignments on behalf of an employer that controls these activities and has initiated them.
The time employees spend on training and education is also regarded as work time, and if the position requires traveling, for example, to visit clients or for client-to-client travel, those hours, of course, also are considered work time. However, the time for commute travel between work and home is not regarded as work time.
Please note that this post doesn’t contain legal advice. If you have any questions about Kansas’ minimum wage policies or minimum wage compliance, consult a tax professional or a tax attorney.