Minimum Wage in Hawaii – weekly, monthly, annually

Hawaii labor law sets the state’s minimum hourly wage at $10.10 per hour. That is $2.85 more than the federally required minimum hourly wage rate of $7.25.

Additionally, Hawaii enacted a statewide $18 minimum hourly wage law which will increase Hawaii’s minimum wage standards gradually from $10.10 to $12 on October 1, 2022, and then to $18 on January 1, 2028.

Hawaii’s tip credit (75 cents an hour) also will be raised incrementally to $1.50, meaning the amount that employers may offset the hourly earnings of tipped workers may be increased. Currently, the tipped minimum hourly wage is $9.35.

In Hawaii, employers cannot pay their workers less than the minimally required $10.10 an hour unless they, or the employees, are specifically exempt from minimum wage regulations under federal or state law.

All Hawaii employers are required to clearly display a state-designated minimum wage poster prominently on their premises so their workers can get properly informed about the state’s minimum wage requirements and their rights under Hawaii’s labor laws and regulations.

Employees under the age of 18 can receive only $4.25 per hour, but this applies only to their first 90 days on the job. This time frame is regarded as a sort of training period.

Hawaii Paycheck Calculator

This Hawaii Paycheck Calculator helps you to translate your hourly wage to earnings per week, month, or year.

How to use this Hawaii paycheck calculator

  1. First, put in your hourly wage.
  2. Second, put in the number of work hours per week.
  3. Our paycheck calculator will convert your hourly wage to weekly, monthly, or annual earnings.

How does the Hawaii paycheck calculator work?

Figuring out how a paycheck works is, for the average employee, a relatively simple process. Every month, or every week or biweekly, the employee will receive a paycheck, and toward year’s end, they will receive the tax forms.

For these employees, the ones that have regular, steady jobs with a periodical paycheck, understanding their monthly or weekly salaries is rather straightforward. For employees who receive an hourly wage, however, things may get more complicated.

For hourly paid employees, our paycheck calculator is a handy tool that helps them convert their hourly wage to earnings per week, month, or year.

Time period Equation
Annual earnings = hourly wage times
40 hours times 52 weeks
Monthly earnings = annual wage divided by 12 months
Weekly earnings = hourly wage times 40 hours

These results are generated by multiplying the base hourly salary by the number of hours, weeks, or months you work on a yearly basis, assuming that you’re working 40 hours per week.

Minimum Wage in Hawaii

So in Hawaii, the minimally required hourly wage is $10.10. This hourly rate translates to $80.80 per day, $404 per week (at 40 work hours), $1751 per month, and $21,008 per year.

Not all Hawaii employees may get the minimally required rate of $10.10. The state’s minimum wage payment doesn’t apply to some workers that receive gratuity, some students with part-time jobs, and some other categories.

Minimum wage exemptions in Hawaii

Hawaii’s tip credit (75 cents an hour) also will be raised incrementally to $1.50, meaning the amount that employers may offset the hourly earnings of tipped workers may be increased. Currently, the tipped minimum hourly wage is $9.35.

  • Tipped employees in Hawaii may earn an hourly wage of $9.35, but their combined earnings (including gratuity) cannot be under the state’s minimum wage of $10.10 per hour. If that’s the case, the employer needs to compensate the employee for the difference.
  • Minor workers under the age of 18 can be paid $4.25 per hour but for no longer that their first 90 days of employment.
  • Full-time high school or college students with a part-time job may receive 85% of Hawaii’s minimum wage (so only $8.59 per hour) provided their job doesn’t exceed 20 hours per week and only at certain employers, for example, if they work in a work-study program at a college or university.

Hawaii overtime wage

In Hawaii, all employees that work for more than 40 hours a week should receive overtime pay for the extra hours. The rate for overtime is minimally 150% (1.5 times) of Hawaii’s regular minimum wage of $10.10, so at least $15.15. Hawaii does not put a daily limit on overtime hours.

Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) regulations ensure that Hawaii employees will get overtime pay for qualifying work hours over 40 hours a week. In case an employer isn’t paying overtime earnings adequately, an overtime payment claim can be filed with Hawaii’s Department of Labor.

What is work time?

Work time involves all the work hours an employee spends on carrying out work as directed or instructed by an employer. Standard working hours include predefined standard limits for the number of working hours an employee carries out per day, week, or month.

Work time refers to the hours an employee gets paid (or is entitled to get paid) for performing assignments and duties for an employer. Employees may expect to get fully paid for all their hours spent on activities initiated and/or controlled by an employer.

Work time includes breaks of longer than 15-20 minutes. Longer breaks, though, are not considered work time. Time used for training and education is regarded as work time, as is time for attending conferences and lectures. Time for daily commuting is not regarded as work time.

Please note that this post doesn’t contain legal advice. If you have any questions about Hawaii’s minimum wage policies or minimum wage compliance, consult a tax professional or a tax attorney.