Georgia state law sets the minimum hourly wage rate at $5.15 per hour, but because that is less than the federally required minimum, the Federal FSLA (Fair Labor Standards Act) applies, meaning in Georgia, employees that are not exempt must earn at least $7.25 per hour.
So the federal minimum hourly wage supersedes the minimum hourly wage in Georgia. In other words, the Georgia minimum hourly wage rate is at the same level as the Federal Minimum Wage rate.
The minimum wage of $7.25 applies to the majority of workers in Georgia, with only limited exceptions such as some student workers, tipped workers, and a few other occupations.
In Georgia, the minimum wage laws apply to businesses that employ six or more workers, and these businesses cannot pay their employees under $7.25 an hour unless they or the workers are specifically exempt from this Georgia minimum wage under federal or state law.
The FLSA (Fair Labor Standards Act) and Georgia labor law require that all Georgia employers display state-approved minimum wage posters in prominent places to guarantee that all workers are aware of minimum pay requirements, overtime regulations, and federal and state labor laws in general.
Minor workers younger than 18 may earn $4.25 an hour but only during the first 90 days of employment. This period is seen as a sort of training on the job time.
Georgia Paycheck Calculator
Our Paycheck Calculator makes it easy for you to calculate your earnings per year, month, or week.
How to use our Georgia paycheck calculator
- Enter your hourly earnings.
- Second, enter how many work hours you work per week.
- Then, the paycheck calculator converts your hourly earnings to weekly, monthly, or annual income.
How does the Georgia paycheck calculator work?
Understanding their paychecks is, for most employees, relatively simple. Each month or every week or two weeks, they receive their paychecks, and by the end of the year, they will also get their tax forms.
So for employees with a steady job and periodical paychecks, figuring out their weekly or monthly salaries is an uncomplicated process. However, for workers that get paid by the hour, things are different and more complicated.
So our paycheck calculator helps workers that get paid by the hour by converting their hourly pay into weekly, monthly, or annual earnings.
|Annual earnings||= hourly wage times
40 hours times 52 weeks
|Monthly earnings||= annual wage divided by 12 months|
|Weekly earnings||= hourly wage times 40 hours|
These results are generated by multiplying the base hourly salary by the number of hours, weeks, or months you work on a yearly basis, assuming that you’re working 40 hours per week.
Minimum Wage in Georgia
So in Georgia, the minimum hourly wage is $7.25 per hour at the federal minimum hourly standard rate. This hourly wage corresponds to $58 per day, $290 per week (at 40 hours), $1257 per month, and $15,080 per year.
As stated before, not all employees may receive the minimum rate of $7.25 in Georgia. The requirement to pay the state’s minimum wage does not apply to some tipped workers, employers with sales up to $40,000 annually, employers with five or fewer employees, employers of domestic workers, and land renters, farm owners, or sharecroppers, to mention a few exempt categories.
Minimum wage exemptions in Georgia
- Tipped workers may earn an hourly compensation of $2.13 per hour, but their combined hourly earnings (including gratuity) must at all times be at least $7.25 for each worked hour, or the employers must pay the difference.
- Employees younger than 18 years of age may receive an hourly training wage of $4.25, but only for their first 90 days on the job.
- Full-time enrolled students may receive 85% of Georgia’s minimum hourly rate (so $6.16) for a part-time job of maximally 20 hours per week at specific employers like in work-study programs at colleges and universities.
Please bear in mind that cities, towns, and counties may have their own specific minimum wage laws and requirements. So it is advised to carefully check if and what local wage laws apply.
Georgia overtime wage
All Georgia workers that put in more than 40 work hours per week are entitled to receive compensation over those extra hours at a rate of at least 1.5 times (150%) of the state’s minimum wage. Georgia’s labor laws do not specify a limit on daily overtime hours.
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) ensures that all Georgia workers receive proper overtime compensation for all worked and qualifying hours above 40 hours per week. If an employer doesn’t pay overtime wages adequately, an unpaid overtime claim can be filed with Georgia’s Department of Labor.
What is considered work time?
Work time includes those hours a worker gets paid or is entitled to get paid for engaging in duties and tasks for an employer. Workers may expect to receive full payment for all their time spent on tasks and activities controlled and/or initiated by an employer who benefits from those activities.
Work time also includes short breaks up to 20 minutes, but longer breaks are not counted as work time. If an employee spends time on training or education, those hours count as work time, and the time required to attend, for example, a lecture or conference, is also regarded as work time. Commute time is, however, not seen as work time.
Please note that this post doesn’t contain legal advice. If you have any questions about Georgia’s minimum wage policies or minimum wage compliance, consult a tax professional or a tax attorney.