In Florida, the current minimum wage is $11 per hour. This is $3.75 above the Federal Minimum Wage, which is $7.25 per hour.
On September 1, 2022, the Florida minimum wage rate was raised to $11 per hour. Every year, this rate will be adjusted to reach the $15 per hour level in 2026.
Most Florida employees will earn at least the minimum wage rate, though there are some categories of exempt workers, such as some student workers, tipped employees, and more groups (read more below).
For minor workers under the age of 18, for example, the minimum hourly compensation can be $4.25, but only for the first 90 days on the job, which is regarded as a training period.
For tipped employees, the minimum hourly wage is $6.98. However, their total hourly earnings (so including gratuity) cannot be less than $10 an hour. Florida’s FLSA (Fair Labor Standards Act) specifies tipped workers as persons that make at least $30 in tips a month.
There is a clause, however, that if a tipped worker’s hourly wage, including tips, does not equal Florida’s minimum wage requirements, the employer must pay the difference.
Florida Paycheck Calculator
With our Paycheck Calculator, you can easily calculate your wages per year, per month, or per week.
How to use the Florida paycheck calculator
- First, put in your hourly wage.
- Second, put in the number of work hours per week.
- The paycheck calculator will convert your hourly wage to weekly, monthly, or annual earnings.
How our Florida paycheck calculator works
For most employees, understanding your paycheck is relatively simple. Each week, every two weeks, or once a month, you will receive a paycheck, and toward the end of the calendar year, you will receive your tax forms.
So when you have a job with a periodical paycheck, figuring out your monthly or weekly salary is a relatively uncomplicated process. If you have a job that pays you by the hour, however, chances are it’s getting a bit more challenging to see how that relates to weekly or monthly earnings.
So here, our paycheck calculator comes in handy. We have created this calculator to help you discover how your hourly earnings translate to periodical earnings per week, month, or year.
|Annual wages||hourly wage times
40 hours times 52 weeks
|Monthly wages||annual wage divided by 12 months|
|Weekly wages||hourly wage times 40 hours|
These results are generated by multiplying the base hourly salary by the number of hours, weeks, or months you work on a yearly basis, assuming that you’re working 40 hours per week.
Minimum Wage in Florida
So, in Florida, the minimum hourly wage is $11 per hour. The $11 hourly wage corresponds to $88 per day, $440 per week (at 40 work hours), $1906.67 per month, and $22,880 per year.
Florida’s FLSA (Fair Labor Standards Act) aims to help disabled persons gain employment. If the employee’s mental or physical disability impacts the quality of their work, the employer can pay a lower wage. The act aims to encourage businesses to employ persons with disabilities.
One of the objectives of the FLSA is that it will result in more jobs for disabled people in a wider range of professional settings. Often, these are referred to as “subminimum wage jobs.” Many people, however, and that includes disabled persons as well as lawmakers, have strongly argued against this minimum wage exemption as they feel it is unfair and discriminating against disabled people.
Minimum wage exemptions in Florida
There are employees in Florida that are exempt from the state’s minimum hourly wage standards. The following is not a full overview of exempt categories, but it lists the major groups:
- Florida’s FLSA (Fair Labor Standards Act) helps people with disabilities to get employment. Persons with mental or physical disabilities can receive a lower wage than the state’s minimum hourly wage.
- Minor workers (under the age of 18) may get paid $4.25 per hour during a training period that doesn’t exceed the first 90 days on the job.
- College and high school students may face minimum wage exemptions as well in Florida. Employers in specific sectors can pay full-time students 85% of the Florida minimum wage while on a part-time job up to 20 hours a week, which would currently be $8.50 per hour. or more per hour. These segments include Agriculture, colleges and universities, retail, and service stores.
- Tipped workers in Florida can be paid less than the state’s minimum hourly wage but no less than $6.98 an hour. Their total earnings, however, must at all times be at least $10 per hour. If a worker doesn’t reach that level, the employers must compensate the employee to at least the state’s minimum standard rate.
Florida overtime wage
In Florida, employees that work over 40 hours a week will get paid overtime compensation. The rate for time worked past 40 hours a week is 1.5 times the regular hourly pay, so $15 an hour. The Florida FLSA doesn’t limit the number of overtime hours as long as the employee is at least 16 years of age.
Florida law requires all employers to display a poster in a prominent location that informs the employees about minimum wage regulations, FLSA requirements, and their labor rights in general so that all employees know not only their duties but also their rights.
If a Florida employer violates the state’s minimum wage laws (so pays an employee under the minimum standard), the employee must first inform the employer in writing. Then the employer has 15 days to pay the complaining employee the difference, and if the employer fails to do so, the employee can file a legal claim.
What is work time?
Work time consists of hours employees get paid or are entitled to receive payment for carrying out tasks and duties for their employers.
The general rule is that employees may expect to get fully paid for all the hours they spend on activities initiated and controlled by their employer and from which their employer benefits.
Included in work time are short breaks (up to 20 minutes). Longer breaks, however, are not included in work time. Time spent on education and professional training is seen as worktime, and hours for attending lectures or conferences is work time as well. However, the time for commuting doesn’t count as work time.
Please note that this post doesn’t contain legal advice. If you have any questions about Florida’s minimum wage policies or minimum wage compliance, consult a tax professional or a tax attorney.