In Connecticut, the minimum hourly wage is $14. That is $6.75 above the U.S. Federal Minimum Wage of just $7.25 an hour.
The minimum wage rate applies to the vast majority of workers in Connecticut, with only limited exceptions, such as some student workers, tipped employees, and a few other exempt occupations.
For minors younger than 20 years of age, the minimum payment is $4.25 but only for the first 90 days on the job. But a rate of 85% of the minimum wage can be paid indefinitely if minors work at a farm or for the government.
Employers in Connecticut are not allowed to pay less than $14 per hour unless the occupation or the employee has specifically exempt status under federal or state law.
In Connecticut, all employers are required to prominently display a state-approved minimum wage poster to inform workers about their rights under Connecticut’s labor law and the minimally required hourly compensation.
Tipped employees that make a certain amount of tips on a monthly basis may get lower compensation than the minimum wage, but their combined income (so including tips) must at all times be more than $14 per hour. There are more exempt groups (more below).
Connecticut Paycheck Calculator
With this Paycheck Calculator, you can calculate your earnings per week, monthly, and per year.
How to use this Connecticut paycheck calculator
- First, enter your hourly wage.
- Second, enter how many hours you work per week.
- Our paycheck calculator will show you how your hourly pay translates to weekly, monthly, or annual earnings.
How our Connecticut paycheck calculator works
For the majority of American workers, understanding how much they make is an uncomplicated process. These employees will receive their paychecks every week, every two weeks, or by the end of the month, and by year’s end, they will receive tax forms.
For employees in such situations, knowing how their weekly or monthly earnings are is generally pretty straightforward. For employees working on an hourly basis, however, it might be a bit more challenging to understand their weekly, monthly, or annual earnings. That’s why we offer you this Paycheck Calculator. It will help you to discover in what way your hourly wage translates to weekly, monthly, and annual pay. This paycheck calculator is a fantastic tool to learn that!
|Annual wages =||hourly pay times
40 hours times 52 weeks
|Monthly wages =||annual pay divided by 12 months|
|Weekly wages =||hourly pay times 40 hours|
These results are generated by multiplying the base hourly salary by the number of hours, weeks, or months you work on a yearly basis, assuming that you’re working 40 hours per week.
Minimum Wage in Connecticut
So, in Connecticut, the minimum hourly wage is $14. This wage level corresponds to $112 per day, $560 per week (at 40 working hours), $2467 per month, and $29,120 per year.
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) requires that all Colorado employers must display an official minimum wage poster. This poster must be placed in a prominent and visible location in the workspace to ensure that all employees can become aware of minimum wage requirements, federal and state labor laws, overtime regulations, and their rights in general.
Exemptions in Connecticut
In Connecticut, the minimum wage rates apply to most employees, but there are exceptions where workers may be paid less than the minimally required standard. The following applies:
- Connecticut workers younger than 20 years old can receive $4.25 an hour as a training wage, but only for the first 90 working days.
- Compensation less than the Connecticut minimum hourly rate can be paid indefinitely for minors working at the state’s farms or for the Connecticut government.
- For tipped workers counts that they may get paid a lower hourly minimum wage as long as their hourly earnings are no less than $14, including tips.
Connecticut overtime wage
All Connecticut employees that work more than 40 hours a week are entitled to compensation over those extra hours of at least 150% (1.5 times) of the regular minimum hourly wage. Connecticut doesn’t have any laws that specify a daily overtime limit.
Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) regulations guarantee that all workers in Connecticut receive overtime compensation for all overtime hours. If an employer doesn’t pay overtime wages correctly, an unpaid overtime claim can be filed with the Connecticut Department of Labor.
What is work time?
Usually, working hours are all those hours an employee has to be on duty, be on his employer’s premises, or is required to be present at another workplace as directed by his employer. Generally speaking, the rule is that workers need to be compensated for all hours spent on activities that benefit their employer or are initiated or controlled by their employer.
In general, short breaks (up to 20 minutes) count as work time. Longer breaks, however, are usually not. It goes without saying that time an employee spends on education or training qualifies as work time, and if they attend a conference or lecture, it is also seen as work time. However, daily commute time isn’t seen as work time.
Please note that this post doesn’t contain legal advice. If you have any questions about Connecticut’s minimum wage policies or minimum wage compliance, consult a tax professional or a tax attorney.