In Arizona, the minimum hourly wage is $12.80, which is $5.55 more than the U.S. Federal Hourly Minimum Wage of $7.25 an hour.
Practically all workers in Arizona are required to be paid this minimum hourly wage as required by Arizona state law.
Exempt categories include executives, administrators, business professionals, traveling and outside salespersons, and some domestic workers, like babysitters and housekeepers, are also exempt from Arizona’s minimum wage regulations.
There are localities in Arizona that have established their own higher minimum hourly earnings that apply to practically all employees working within their city limits, and there are also workers that are exempt from getting this minimum hourly pay.
Tuscon has a city ordinance that increases the minimum wage in that city for practically all employees that work within the city limits to $13.00 an hour (tipped minimum wage: $10.50).
In the city of Flagstaff, workers are entitled to an hourly minimum wage of $15.50, while the tipped minimum wage is $13.00. If an employee doesn’t reach the level of the local minimum wage (including tips), an employer is obligated to compensate the employee for the difference.
With our Paycheck Calculator, you can calculate your weekly, monthly, or yearly earnings.
Arizona Paycheck Calculator
How to use the Arizona paycheck calculator
- First, enter your pay per hour.
- Second, enter the number of hours you work per week.
- Our calculator will show you how those numbers translate to weekly, monthly, or annual earnings.
How our Arizona paycheck calculator works
Understanding earnings is, for most people, quite a simple process. Every week, or every few weeks, they will get their paychecks. Then, near the end of a calendar year, they will receive their tax forms.
For these people, this may be a straightforward process, but for people working on an hourly basis, it could all get a bit more challenging.
|Annual wages =||hourly pay times
40 hours times 52 weeks
|Monthly wages =||annual pay divided by 12 months|
|Weekly wages =||hourly pay times 40 hours|
Minimum Wage in Arizona
So in Arizona, the minimum hourly wage is $12.80 per hour; this translates to $112.40 daily, $512 per week (at 40 hours), and $2219 per month. It also translates to annual earnings of $26,624.
These results are generated by multiplying the base hourly salary by the number of hours, weeks, or months you work on a yearly basis, assuming that you’re working 40 hours per week.
Not all employees are entitled to the Arizona hourly minimum pay. There are minimum wage exemptions for workers that fit in the following categories:
- Arizona employees under 20 can be paid $4.25 an hour but only for the first 90 days.
- Arizona Students are entitled to an hourly minimum wage of $10.88. Arizona students full-time enrolled in college or high school and who have part-time jobs may be paid only 85% of the state’s minimum wage ($10.88 an hour) for no more than 20 hours per week, for example, in work-study programs.
- Some domestic employees, such as babysitters and family-employed workers, may also be exempt from the Arizona minimum wage.
- Employees earning a certain amount of tips on a monthly basis may be paid a lower minimum wage than the Arizona hourly minimum wage, but their hourly pay, including tips, must be at least $12.80 per hour.
- Small businesses grossing less than $500,000 per year may pay their employees less than the Arizona minimum wage, but only if those businesses are not covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act. However, this is a very small exemption because practically every small business is covered by FLSA regulations.
Minimum wage and taxes in Arizona
In Arizona, there is a progressive tax system, and the rates vary depending on the level of your income. There are four Arizona tax brackets ranging from 1.59% to 4.50%. Locally, there are no income taxes.
Your paycheck, of course, will have federal and state taxes deducted.
Arizona overtime wage
In Arizona, employees who work more than 40 hours a week are entitled to at least 1.5 times the hourly minimum pay (so $19.20) for those overtime hours. Arizona state law does not specify any limit to daily overtime hours.
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) guarantees that all Arizona employees will receive adequate overtime pay for all qualifying overtime hours, and if an employer doesn’t pay overtime wages correctly, the employees can file unpaid overtime claims with Arizona’s Department of Labor.
What is considered work time?
When talking about work time, we usually refer to time spent on all activities that relate to a professional position. In this post, we assume for all calculations that employees work 40 hours a week.
Work time refers to all hours spent on work-related activities and requirements, such as minor work breaks, travel time required for education or training, small work breaks, or attending seminars or meetings, including travel time. Commuting time is not regarded as work time!
Please note that this post doesn’t contain legal advice. If you have any questions about Arizona’s minimum wage policies or minimum wage compliance, consult a tax professional or a tax attorney.